36 Crazyfists: Bitterness The Star Tastes Sweet
Erin Hibbard
9/14/2003 9:06:44 PM

In the angry blend of death metal and hardcore known as Nu-Metal, the Anchorage, Alaska band 36 Crazyfists, have carved out a niche for themselves. Their debut album, Bitterness The Star [Roadrunner Records], released earlier this year, constitutes an explosive masterpiece of hostility, rage, and aggression.

Initially, frontman Brock Lindow’s unique vocals grab your attention. His shaky delivery sounds imperfect, but actually, this “flaw” creates a unique sound, under-girding the angst-ridden vocals. Combined with Holt (guitarist), Whitney (bassist), and Noonan’s (drummer) furious guitars and haunting melodies, Lindow’s sound differentiates the band's vibe, giving 36 Crazyfists the hallmarks of a signature. Clearly this is what every band wants.

The best songs from the album include “An Agreement Called Forever”, “Turns To Ashes”, and “Eightminutesupsidedown”. Check out Skinlab frontman Steve Esquivel in “Bury Me Where I Fall” as well as Carl Severson of Nora in “One More Word”. These haunting tunes stay with the listener long after the CD has been put back in its jacket. If you're searching for something different and strong, 36 Crazyfists' Bitterness The Star beckons.


Copyright ©2021 Night Times, LLC. All rights reserved.